Michael Heizer’s Double Negative is Still a Physical Experience

Posted: February 25, 2016 in Phantom Jettys
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

During my trip to visit my family in Las Vegas I decided to find Michael Heizer’s Double Negative Land Art piece (since Heizer’s City is still closed to the public). It was only two hours north of Vegas in an area my sister and her husband referred to as “Bundy Country,” and at the time the Bundy Oregon Standoff story was still a thing. I wasn’t too worried about that, just concerned about the rain that occurred two days previous that might have made the unpaved roads muddy and I was using my rental car (a Hyundai) . There were some mud run off and I almost got stuck on my way back because of the squished mud created by a huge double trailer dump truck that passed before I got there but I made it.

The trenches of Double Negative are still there, the surrounding area is beautiful in February, and it is worth a visit for any fan of Land Art.

Note: Because I took a regular car I had to park and walk the last 1.2 miles to reach it because the so called road that goes to it isn’t really a road but a path created by and made for four wheelers or ATVs. Discovering it by hiking to it turned out to be more thrilling.

 

 

Leave a Reply

