IMG_7078Last week, I set out for the city to see Tony and Rebecca, friends from San Francisco who own and run the art gallery I had worked at for the last 17 years – Anthony Meier Fine Arts. They were doing their annual New York art fair at the armory, so since I was now in NY, I decided to stop by and say, “Hi!” Since the Armory Show was all the way at the pier at 54th (I checked the website), it was going to be a bit of a walk. Lugging my backpack, and a present of Jacques Torres Chocolates, I walked the long crosstown blocks to reach the art fair. The wind was cold, but the day was suppose to warm up, and since this was the worst winter I’ve ever experienced in New York, I was thrilled to experience anything above freezing. As I approached the fair, I looked down and noticed that the sunlight cast across my black shoes was bringing out a curious brown color…or was it that I was still wearing my slippers? I gasped. I was still wearing my slippers. After a thorough brain panic, I calmed down by rationalizing it was okay to see art in one’s, and they kind of looked like shoes too, in a way. I’d just not bring this fact to my friends’ attention.

I went to the will call desk to get the ticket Rebecca left for me and came upon my next problem, they couldn’t find it. The woman at the desk admitted that a lot of late information about passes and so forth had not reached them, so there was some confusion. She suggested that I contact the Gallery.  I text Rebecca and waited. In a few minutes, she text back telling me that the ticket was definitely there, so I asked again. This time to a young man with a soft, adolescent looking mustache, which I suppose was an attempted to look older and sophisticated. I explained my problem, and he too could no find my ticket, but he suggested that I have the gallery e-mail or call the office. When I asked how long that would take, he suggested that all he would need is a phone call from the Gallery. At that moment, Rebecca called to see how thing are going. Perfect timing I told her and hand handed my phone to the will call guy. In minutes, I was holding my VIP Pass, and a VIP Preview card. Now I could finally see my friends.

The Armory Show was crowded, very crowded. Funny, didn’t Rebecca say that the preview was yesterday, I thought as I began my search. I went up and down the entire contemporary side of the fair looking for them, checking out booth after booth. I saw at a lot of art and a lot of people talking in front of art but not necessarily looking at it. After nearly two hours of walking, looking, searching, I found a place to sit and decided to look at a map of the fair for the location of their booth. I couldn’t find them in the contemporary side. I was sure they couldn’t be in the modern section at the other building, but I checked and couldn’t couldn’t find them there in the map as well. The map was also hard to deal with because the list of exhibitors were alphabetized in what seemed to me to be awkward, non-intuitive looking way. Finally, I went to the info desk and asked a woman there for help. She too had a hard time finding them too, and admitted that the show’s map was not easy to read. I pointed out that my friends had to be there because, and showed her the passes they left me. She said she would figure it out, and to come back, so I left with one last idea in mind, to read their email they send about the art fair over a week ago.

That’s when I had my “eureka” moment. I discovered that there was the Armory Show art fair at the pier and and an art fair at the armory on Park, which was clear across town. Crap, I was at the wrong place. Slippers, don’t fail me now! I hustled over, and two and a half hours after talking to Rebecca, I found them around the corner from where my ticket was at Will Call at the Armory! I explained what happened, thanked Rebecca for getting me into another art fair by total accident, had a laugh about it, got a chance to catch up. I left that fair thinking, wait a minute, I think I’m holding the uber art fair pass of all time. Wait a minute, I think I’m going to check out a lot of art. I going to check out everything! The following is the result of my decision:

ADAA: The Art Show 2015

Feat: Anthony Meier Fine Art With Sarah Cain

IMG_6622 IMG_6619 IMG_6635

Plus:

IMG_6623 IMG_6608

The Armory Show

IMG_6624 IMG_6625 IMG_6652 IMG_6671 IMG_6627 IMG_6669

Volta NY

IMG_6787 IMG_6788 IMG_6789 IMG_6790 IMG_6791 IMG_6696

SPRING/BREAK Art Show

IMG_6781 IMG_6782 IMG_6783 IMG_6784 IMG_6785 IMG_6786 IMG_6722 IMG_6762 IMG_6757 IMG_6759 IMG_6755 IMG_6779

PULSE New York

IMG_6894 IMG_6895 IMG_6896 IMG_6897 IMG_6899 IMG_6898

Moving image

IMG_7065 IMG_7063 IMG_7064 IMG_6999 IMG_7009

Scope

IMG_7071 IMG_7068 IMG_7066 IMG_7070 IMG_7072 IMG_7051 IMG_7030 IMG_7028 IMG_7026 IMG_7045

Besides the Art Fairs, I also attended these:

Jack Davidson – love, mistake, promise, auto crack-up, color, petal at Theodore:Art in Brooklyn

IMG_6945 IMG_6944 IMG_6946 IMG_6948 IMG_6947

On Kawara—Silence at the Guggenheim

IMG_6900 IMG_6901 IMG_6902 IMG_6903 IMG_6904 IMG_6906

2015 Triennial: Surround Audience at the New Museum

IMG_7059 IMG_7062 IMG_6990 IMG_7061 IMG_6959 IMG_6976

Not Related to Armory Week unless you count Iron Man

Big Apple Con with Chitoge

IMG_6859 IMG_6893 IMG_6891 IMG_6892 IMG_6860 IMG_6851

Pharmakon Live at Webster Hall

IMG_6949 IMG_6951

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

